My Home on the Internet

You should normally see a picture of me here.  I am sorry you have been denied that pleasure.Hovering here would have animated the picture, but changing text hardly has the same effect.

It gives me great pleasure to welcome you to my website! In case this is your first time here, let me introduce myself. My name is Shagnik Das, and I am conducting my DFG-funded research project, Modern perspectives in classic extremal combinatorics, in the Combinatorics and Graph Theory group of Professor Tibor Szabó at the Mathematics Department of the Freie Universität Berlin, having completed my Ph.D. in mathematics at the University of California, Los Angeles, under the advisement of Professor Benny Sudakov. (I rather like long sentences (and parenthetical remarks).)

If you are here on official business, you should find any information you need through the links on your left. Whether you want to know more about my research, or are a student looking for some information about your course, I think you will find there is a link for you. For the sake of completeness, I have even included a little section about myself.

On the other hand, if this is a purely social visit, please do make yourself comfortable and enjoy your time here. If you'd like to get in touch, and are not a spammer, you can reach me at either of the addresses below.

Office: Room 204, Arnimallee 3, 14195 Berlin, Germany

If you had visited the previous incarnation of this website (hosted by UCLA), then I owe you an apology for having let it lie dormant for so long. In my defence, though, I was in Zürich, and when having to choose between updating one's website and hiking the Swiss Alps, there is only one correct answer. Rest assured, though, now that I have moved to the rather quieter Berlin, I have brought my website with me, and shall be much more diligent about keeping it up to date.

(If you replace 'hiking the' and 'Alps' in the above paragraph with 'eating' and 'Toblerone' respectively, you might reach a more accurate description of my time in Switzerland.)